How Much Does A DUI Cost In Ohio?

If you are convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) or operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs (OVI) in Ohio, you may be fined $375 to $1,625. You may incur additional costs such as driver’s license reinstatement fees and attorney fees.

If you are convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) or operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs (OVI) in the state of Ohio, it will cost at least $375 to $1,625 in fines. 

However, receiving an Ohio DUI or Ohio OVI, may cost you more due to defense attorney fees and driver’s license reinstatement fees that may be required.

In addition to monetary costs, OVI penalties may consist of jail time, court appearances, and the loss of driving privileges. The cost of a DUI can increase greatly when you are court-ordered to pay for legal fees, court costs, and other instances in which payment is required.

DUI/OVI Arrest Costs

As soon as you are stopped on the road for a DUI/OVI, you are paying a cost. Those who get behind the wheel and operate a motor vehicle while impaired may have a slowed reaction time, fail to obey traffic lights, or swerve while on the road due to distractions.

Get Started On The Road To Recovery.

Get Confidential Help 24/7. Call Today!

(419) 904-4158

The Arrest

When a law enforcement official stops you, they may request that you perform a breathalyzer test. This test will help determine the amount of alcohol in your system. If your blood alcohol content (BAC) is higher than .08%, you are beyond the legal limit.

This means you failed your field sobriety test and may receive a DUI charge. Drunk driving can immediately cost you monetarily and legally.


If you are arrested, your car may need to be towed. Towing or impounding a vehicle can cost you a daily fee while you are taken to the police station or jail. Additionally, receiving DUI/OVI charges will result in the increase of insurance premiums from your insurance company.

The Costs Of The DUI Legal Process

Once you’ve been arrested, you will go through the court process which will require more costs.

Obtaining A Defense Attorney

To obtain a DUI lawyer, contact law offices in the area. Speak with law firms to find a criminal defense lawyer who can help represent you during mandatory court appearances.

Your lawyer may provide a free consultation to learn about your OVI case/DUI case. If you are a first-time offender, your DUI attorney can help reduce fees and certain negative consequences such as community service or the suspension of your driver’s license.

Hiring a DUI defense team can be costly, depending on the type of lawyer as well as certain factors in the case. If damage to property or people occurred due to your DUI, your case may be much more difficult and can create more financial hardship on you.

Court Costs & Legal Fees

As a first offense, a DUI conviction/OVI conviction may only result in a misdemeanor. However, you will still be required to pay court costs and other legal fees.

Consequences Of A DUI Conviction

There are numerous consequences for receiving a DUI conviction, including loss of driving privileges, jail time, and mandatory treatment.

Loss Of Driving Privileges

A first DUI/OVI conviction may earn the offender an administrative license suspension of 90 days. Your driving privileges may be revoked, leading to a driver’s license suspension.

In fact, you can be required to place an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. You may also be responsible for the cost of the device.

Additionally, the court may order you to participate in a driver intervention program. You will be responsible for finding transportation to and from mandatory programs.

In order to have your license reinstated, you may have to pay for a license reinstatement fee which costs $475.

Jail Time

As part of your sentence, you may be required to take part in mandatory jail time. Although your lawyer may be able to lower your jail sentencing time, you will still be required to pay bail.

If someone was harmed during a motor vehicle accident caused by drug use, bail costs may be more expensive compared to those who are stopped by police officers and receive a DUI charge as a first-time offense.

Mandatory Treatment

If a person is engaging in risky behavior such as driving impaired, a judge may rule you are required to attend a rehab program at an Ohio treatment center. Those with a drug or alcohol addiction can benefit from the structured environment which offers treatments for drug use.

With some treatment facilities, you can use your health insurance coverage. Payment for treatment will be a necessary cost to you.

Thankfully, addiction treatment allows you to begin your road to sobriety.

For information on our inpatient substance use treatment program in Northwest Ohio, please contact us today.

  1. National Institute on Drug Abuse
  2. Ohio Laws and Administrative Rules
  3. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
  4. Translational Research: The Journal of Laboratory and Clinical Medicine

Written by Ohio Recovery Center Editorial Team

Published on: January 3, 2024

© 2024 Ohio Recovery Center | All Rights Reserved

* This page does not provide medical advice.

Prefer Texting?
We've got you covered.

Receive 24/7 text support right away.
There is no obligation and you can opt out at any time.

Sign up for text support

Receive 24/7 text support right away.
There is no obligation and you can opt out at any time.
Let us walk you through the treatment process. We're here to help.
For 24/7 Treatment Help:
100% Free & Confidential. Call (419) 904-4158
(419) 904-4158